Hastings & St Leonards Voluntary Lifeguard Club
Hastings & St Leonards Voluntary Lifeguard Club

Windemere - 2009

Following the clubs’ success with their Cross Channel relay swim last year we are undertaking a bigger challenge. Three members are each going to attempt to swim the 10½ miles of Lake Windermere.

 

We continue to try to raise the awareness of our own voluntary club and all those around the country. We are, of course, seeking to raise funds for our own club. These funds will be going towards a new rescue boat, our insurance and pool hire costs.

 

We have undertaken the challenge of swimming the length of Lake Windermere. We have 3 club members training to swim the 10½ miles from one end to the other, this can take as little as 7 hours or as long as 14 hours. Each swimmer must have individual safety cover paddling adjacent to them so we have a support team of over a dozen members who are also practicing paddling and how to pass food and drink to the swimmers.

Meet the Team & Support Team:

Download
Meet the Team
New file download

Updates:

Update 1
wind-news-1.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [3.6 MB]
Update 2
wind-news-2.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [3.2 MB]
Update 3
wind-news-3.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [3.3 MB]

Diary Dates 2018:

Fri 27th April 

Stiff Neck training

Sat 28th April

E Sx Fire & Rescue Drowning Event

(help needed)

Friday 18th May

Extended Life Support Training

Saturday 19th & Sunday 20th May

Bexhill Regata

Friday 22nd June

Save a Life - AED

Saturday 7th July

Beer Festival

Sunday 15th July

Pirate Day

Saturday 21st & Sunday 22nd July

Hastings RAF 100

Saturday 4th August 

Carnival 

Friday 7th December 
Club Competition 
Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Hastings & St Leonards Voluntary Lifeguard Club Charity No. 1147368